Thanking the farmers

Everybody has their own secret mantra which they find useful and will eventually apply for their unique set of problems. As a rummaging wanna-be R programmer, almost daily I shovel through rich contents of web in lookout for gurus. It’s a bit puzzling to know that most of them come faceless, nevertheless amazing are the quality of the contents the offer.

Either of the creating, editing or deploying a website has never been easy, to me especially. In fact, It’s just been a few weeks, not more than a month that I deployed my first website. I can’t thank enough the blogdown project by Yihui Xie that, at the first place, inspired me to make this personalized website of my own, showing how seemlessly can the technicalities be overcome. Before this I haven’t for once attempted to write an html code for a website as such.

Some of the blog posts around web makes it seem really easy to get a website done with github, one of them being introductory tutorial presented at https://proquestionasker.github.io/. The process outlined here is pretty simple for beginning a new project on its entirety. I didn’t gained much when trying to deal with my use-case, though.

I had already started a website project, as soon as I found about the package that lets you do so. But the process of deploying that in the web server seemed elusive to me for most of that time. As painful as it seemed, I was most relieved after finally deploying my first site the moment the built with hugo was done and local server rendering seemed okey.

The title of the post might be elusive for anybody trying to cast a literal meaning to the word farmer. In here, I mean a farmer figuratively in the sense of a producer – they might produce crop to feed the world, or they might produce tools like knitr, tidyverse that endows one with a vision to look more realistically into the nature of the things.

Some of the great perspectives and insights shared by these people are what I intend to share in the links below.

  1. From the bottom of the heap by Gavin Simpson
  2. This solution manual might be the easy get along to exercises in Hadley Wickham’s book: “Advanced R”.
  3. If you really are searching for a book project to contribute in, or at least access it in whatever the stage of development it may be, a good reference to look at is the homepage of bookdown website, maintained by Yihui Xe the author of the package, which the website is named after.
  4. Hadley Wickham’s book: R packages, also available freely in html format online, is the best of resources for somebody trying to learn integration of Rstudio, git and github and also wanting to gain intuitive understanding of version control in git. He uses screenshots to demonstrate actually how to actually use Rstudio git integration while doing basic to advanced versioning tasks.

This post was last updated on 2020-05-25

comments powered by Disqus

Related